Daycraft Illusions Notebooks

Today, we have another set of notebooks to take a look at. These beautiful and interesting notebooks were provided by Mr. Foreal Lee of Daycraft in Honk Kong. He mentioned to me, after I had reviewed several of their other offerings, that the brand new Illusion series would be coming out in February, and asked whether or not I might like to give them a try. I gladly agreed, and here you have the review…

 The Illusions line consists of a small (more of a medium actually) and large notebook. The small notebook is 5.83″ wide x 8.27″ high (148 x 210 mm), while the large is 8.27″ wide x 11.69″ high (210 x 297 mm). Both notebooks contain 176 pages of 100 gsm white debossed linen paper which is narrow ruled (1/4″ or 6.5 mm) in the small notebook and wide ruled (11/32″ or 9 mm) in the large notebook. Both covers are laminated paper, printed with an illusory pattern. The small notebook has a wheel pattern which rotates when you defocus, while the large has a hidden heart on the cover.

The paper in these notebooks, I must admit, seems to be fantastic! It’s thick and I experienced very little bleedthrough or showthrough. Even the Sharpie, which normally bleeds through about anything, had a bit of trouble bleeding through this one! The lines interestingly end in alternating arrows, placing limits on the page. The only pen that experienced feathering was the Pilot Petit 1 in Wine Red, but even then, it wasn’t horribly bad.

Some other features include lay-flat binding, which actually seems to work very well, as well as a pocket in the back cover for notes. After taking a look and trying out these notebooks, I can highly recommend them to anyone who writes with a variety of different pens or fountain pens on a daily basis.

So,  I asked, and got permission to give away the large notebook. Since I haven’t had time to set up another Google form, for now just comment on this post and I’ll use Random.org to select the winner. Comment before Monday, March 7th @ 11:59 pm, and I’ll select and announce a winner on Tuesday, March 8th. One entry per person, and, unfortunately,  only open to people in the USA. Good luck folks! 🙂

