Sharpie Gel Highlighter

Well, I hate to say it, but once again the Sharpie name has let me down… So, I love their permanent markers and their pens, but the Sharpie Pencil and now the Sharpie Gel Highlighter both have been flops. More on that in a moment.

Sharpies Gel Highlighters feature new gel technology that won’t dry out if left uncapped, writes just as long as a traditional style highlighter, conforms to your writing style, and is perfect for highlighting, writing, doodling, and drawing. They also feature Sharpie’s Advance Smear Guard technology, which they claim will not smear on inkjet prints, ballpoint pens, marker inks, gel pens, and rollerball pens. They also claim that it won’t bleed on glossy paper, magazines, thin papers, or Bibles.

So, if that last paragraph sounded like I was reading off the back of the package, it’s because I was… Sharpie has outdone themselves on claiming things that aren’t really true, at least when it comes to smear resistance. All I can say is… It’s bloody horrendous… (See picture below)

It smeared everything… And I mean everything. The fountain pen was actually the least smeared. The Pilot G-2, smeared. The Tul Rollerball, smeared. The Pilot VRazor Felt Tip, smeared. The Bic Ballpoint, smeared and faded. The FieldNotes Pencil, smeared! The “highlighter” also left a residue on the page that makes it feel slick. It’s not often that I am almost incensed at an office supply, but I must admit that spending money on these actually upsets me. I guess I’ll just chalk it up to experience and move on. Sorry guys, nothing good to say about these at all.

