So, up for review today, we have two more notebooks from Daycraft. First off, we have their Cantoon Journal. This small cardboard cover journal has a small cartoon, which Daycraft claims is a mnemonic (or memory aid). Unfortunately, I can’t read Chinese, and thus have absolutely no clue as to what it says. The notebook is 4.13″ wide x 7.09″ high and is made completely from “Satogami” paper (a google search seemed to reveal that this is a high-quality paper used for origami as well as other “craft” purposes). The cover is 190 gsm while the 100 pages are 116 gsm, which is a very high gsm for a small journal (compared to the Quo Vadis/Exacompta/Rhodia 80/90 gsm). The paper readily accepted almost all the fountain pen inks I had, although the Noodler’s Bulletproof Lexington Grey feather something awful.

There is one thing a bit deceptive about this journal. When I first looked at it, I was taken in by the “unique” binding that was used. The front and back covers looked to be “zig-zag” sown together, but on closer inspection, the thread was merely decoration, since the books is perfect-bound. However, the book does, with a little prompting, lay open relatively flat.

The Cantoon Journal is an interesting little quad journal that, if not for the character on the front/mnemonic (which I have no clue what it means), I would carry it around with me.

Next up, we have the Daycraft Signature Sketchbook. This interesting little sketchbook (about 5-3/4″ x 4-1/4″) features a plum-colored “foam” cover glued to the cardstock cover. The “foam” is spongy and actually pleasant to the touch, and I must admit that it’s a unique notebook in the way it feels in your hand. The only branding present is a small Daycraft stamp embossed on the back in the bottom-left corner. The paper is cream-colored 100 gsm and is acid-free and has no colored edges. There’s also a small ribbon that you can use to mark your pages. The main problem I have with this sketchbook (other than the color… A guy with a purple sketchbook… Yeah…) is the fact that this book doesn’t lay flat, which in my opinion is a must for a sketchbook. As always, the Sharpies bled through the page, but most other pens didn’t have as much of an effect, although there was a bit of show through (which probably wouldn’t happen if you sketch with a pencil, rather than a pen). All in all, a neat little sketchbook.

So, there you have two great little notebook from Daycraft! Thanks so much to Daycraft for sending me the samples, and my apologies for how long it took me to get around to reviewing them!

Note: I am not an employee nor and I am in any way affiliated with Daycraft or Tai Shing Diary. This review and my opinions of this product is in no way affected by the fact that this item was a free sample from Daycraft.
