J. Herbin 1670 Anniversary Ink
(Rouge Hematite)

This beautiful bottle of J. Herbin 1670 was an early Christmas present to myself (yeah, at $19.00-25.00 a bottle, no-one was lining up to buy it for me), and I planned on reviewing it sooner, but I decided to use it for a while before passing judgement. So here, almost a month after the purchase from WritersBloc, I decided that I’m finally ready to give my opinion on this ink.

In short, I’m bummed… While it is beautiful ink and bottle, it just doesn’t live up to my expectations for the price. Now, don’t get me wrong, this is just my opinion, and you could purchase this ink and experience completely different results, but I’ve decided that it’s just not for me.

Firstly, the dry time is ridiculous. On some paper that I used it on, I could run my pinkie over it more than a minute after I had written the words and still smear the lettering as well as leave a residue on my finger. Being left-handed, this is death for a pen/ink for me. If the dry time is more than 15 seconds, I am guaranteed to smear it.

Secondly, the 1670 is not waterfast… At all… The instant water hits it, it’s gone. I included a sample from my sermon journal from church (Leuchtturm 1917 Softbound Ruled Journal) where a tear had fallen on the page and you can see where it smeared all over the place. Plus, on that same page, you can see where I smeared it with my hand as well.

Thirdly, we have the issue of nib-creep. The 1670 is horrible at nib (and any other part of the pen) creep. If there’s a place that’s accessible to air (as many places are on the Preppys I was using it in), ink is guaranteed to go there, dry, and flake. Plus, on the top of the feed, the ink dries and leaves a golden residue (which doesn’t seem to affect writing any, but does continue to build up over time).

Now, this is not to say that I totally hate this ink. In my opinion, it is a very beautiful ink. The red sometimes dries with an orangeish-gold overtone which is beautiful (and extremely obvious in the ink swab). I just hate to say that because of its long dry time and the fact that it’s not waterfast, it’s not very useful to me. Other people have different opinions, so I urge you to check theirs out as well (see the links below the photo gallery).

