Today, we have a guest review from a new pen friend over at Economy Pens! Alex is a pen blogger “on a tight budget”, so he “has to get his pen fix witha ffordable pens”. I ran into Alex when he won one of my contests, and I quickly added him to my blogroll. He’s also got a Sheaffer Fountain Pen Giveaway going on too, so you’d better run over there and check that out as well (not before you read his review though)! So, for our first review coming back from finals week, I give you Alex’s opinion on this beautiful ink:

J. Herbin – Rouge Bourgogne

I don’t typically go for inks that are in the pink spectrum, but this one was selected for the purpose of writing love letters and poems, so I think it is quite fitting in that respect. The ink is well-behaved and does not feather in my 21 x 29.7 cm Rhodia notebook. The paper is 80g, and there is no bleed-through on the other side of the paper.

As you can (hopefully) see in the image, there is a lot of shading with this ink, which is a characteristic that I almost always enjoy. For this sample, I used a Lamy Joy with a 1.5 mm calligraphy nib. A 1.5 mm nib obviously puts down a lot more ink, so you may notice that the ink appears lighter if you use a smaller nib. I had also tried to use my J. Herbin glass dip pen to do this review, but I need to get some sand paper to smooth out the rather scratch tip that it came with. Either way, if you like inks that are a darker pink, you will almost certainly enjoy the J. Herbin Rouge Bourgogne.

            For another review of this ink, check out the review done by Our Lady of Shadows on The Fountain Network.

http://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/index.php?/topic/124106-j-herbin-rouge-bourgogne/

