Koh-I-Noor Progresso Woodless Colored Pencils

I know, I know… This wasn’t on my list of things that I said I was going to review, but I actually have this huge backlog of stuff that I never got around to, so… Yeah… Anyhoo, before you we have the Koh-I-Noor  Hardtmuth  Progresso Woodless Colored Pencils. Woodless you say? Yes, tell me more…

 The Progresso Woodless Pencils feature a graphite core which is coated in what I’m assuming is paint, which represents the pencil color. These came packaged in a nice little carton of twenty-four, and I grabbed them at Michael’s a while back with one of my 40% off coupons.

As I mentioned before, when you sharpen these, there truly is no wood residue… Period… In fact, I usually even save the sharpenings to use as blender/shader (applied by taking a pinch in between my fingers and carefully rubbing into the area I’m working on) since it’s pure color, other than the slight coat of paint which easily goes away after you’re finished blending. I actually enjoy using these, although the slick paint can be a little slippery if your hands sweat at all.

Now, a little bit of info about the following pictures. I only took a picture of one pencil (my favorite color, btw, and one of the best pencils in the bunch) in order to show the label and the texture of the graphite tip. Also attached are photos of my ink/lead catalog that I just started in order to keep track of the different colors of ink, lead, and other mediums I’ve experienced. The numbers beside the color names refer to the number stamped on the corresponding pencil by Koh-I-Noor…

“Chinese Still Life” – Five Minute Doodle while waiting for my lunch… 🙂

