I know, I know… I hinted at all the wonderful goodness that is coming up here on Pens’n’Paper and then I let you down by posting mediocrity the next day… Well, I decided that instead of rushing to post on the good stuff I received that I would take my time and try them out for a while and then post based upon my experience over time. So today, we have the Yasutomo Niki Roll. Available from Blick Art Materials for the meager price of only $4.46, the Niji Roll is a must for any aspiring artist who’s on the go…

This neat little roll is constructed from durable, water-resistant nylon canvas and has 37 small elastic loops as well as two large parallel elastic loops. The small loops easily hold pencils, brushes, or markers, and I use the large ones to hold erasers or sharpeners. The vinyl strap is sturdy and easily snaps, holding your roll tightly closed. When fully unrolled, the Niji roll measures 19″ long by 7-3/4″ wide.

As you can see from the photos below, I chose to use one of mine for pencils and one for pens/markers. One thing that I have noticed is that in my marker roll, I have to pay a lot of attention to spacing, often leaving one space in between some of the markers, else the roll will not roll up and snap. May be that some of my markers are too large though… All in all, these rolls do an excellent job of transporting and protecting my art supplies, and I would recommend them to anyone who is on the go and wants to carry some of their stuff with them.

