One of my random purchase from JetPens, I decided to pick up a few brush pens… Why? I can’t write in an Oriental language, so they are useless in that regard. I can’t really draw with them (although many people do), just not my style. So why did I buy them you ask?

I was curious…

Yup, simple as that. I was curious as to how different they were from regular pens, why they came in so many different colors and styles. Some say curiosity killed the cat, but I consider curiosity an asset at times, and I’m glad to say that I learned about brush pens and the fact that I’m worthless when using one… 😛

So, here we have several examples of brush pens… We have a Akashiya Corporation ThinLine Watercolor Brush Pen in Chitosemidori (Pine Tree Green) which has and artificial “hair” brush and watercolor dye-based ink. Next, we have two Kuretake brand brush pens, one which features an actual hair brush in green and another that is “hard tipped” (brush fibers do not seperate) in blue.The last is a Pilot Double Sided Brush Pen, which features to “hard-tipped’ (these are more like porous point pens) brushes in black and gray.

L to R: Akashiya, Kuretake (green), Kuretake (blue), and Pilot (black)...

As I mentioned, I have absolutely no experience or any foreknowledge about the use and quality of brush pens, so this is really just an informative post rather than a formal review. Below is a photo of the paper I scribbled on with each of the brush pens I currently have…As you can see, each brush is capable of several different line widths, although the “hard-tipped” were much more steady and predictable in their line widths and the amount of ink put to page. I will openly admit that I favor the “hard-tipped” (I’ve actually added the Pilot to my daily carry pens). While the Chitosemidori ThinLine truly is a beautiful olive color (not really pine tree green in my opinion), it’s very hard to do anything with such a fine brush as it tends to ben and splay around rather than retaining any firmness. The green Kuretake thended to do the same. Still, my curiosity is now sated, and I don’t really have any desire to purchase any more brush pens, unless they happen to be the Pilot double-sided, which I have come to like…

