Sun-Star Knock Free Sharp 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil

I can already hear it now… “No review?! What’s wrong with you, man?” Well, to be honest, I don’t k now all that much about mechanical pencils, since I’ve always preferred a good old-fashioned cedar pencil (complete with scent whenever you sharpen them) to a mechanical pencil… However, I do occasionally use them at work and whenever they are handier than a regular pencil, so occasionally I like to try them out… So, instead of a “full review”, you get a doodle (on Doane Paper no less) as well as some random musings.

I will admit that I like the Sun-Star Knock Free Sharp because it is shapped like a regular pencil. The body plus the plastic texture remind me of thos pencils we all had during gradeschool, y’know, the ones that seemed to be made mostly of wax without any real wood in them. However, if it wasn’t for the mechanics, I could almost trick my mind into thinking that it was a real pencil. The eraser is non-removable/refillable, which is definitely not really a plus, but I figure, should I happen to like this pencil enough, that with a knife, a regular pencil eraser, and some superglue, we could make something work…

I’m still getting used to the idea of not having to manually advance my pencil lead. In fact, I kind of miss the action of clicking the top or side and feeling the mechanics inside the pencil advance the lead for me… But, I will admit that the auto advance on this pencil works relatively well, although the “advance sleeve” rides a little low on the lead in my opinion…

Bryan over at The Office Supply Geek has an awesome and very detailed review of this fine mechanical pencil, so feel free to stop by there if my musings aren’t enough to sate your curiosity…

