Pen #63.
Pilot Hi-Tec-C Coleto 0.5mm Gel Multipen – Brown and Apple Green

First pen out of my new JetPens order that gets reviewed is this Hi-Tec-C Coleto. I was a little leery of purchasing this at first, since I didn’t really have a wonderful experience with the original Hi-Tec-C I purchased, but I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised. I purchased the two-cartridge body and one refill each of 0.5mm brown and apple green ink.

The pen body is rather plain, featuring no grip other than a gnurled plastic, and is designed so that the refills themselves are the plungers, rather than having them attached to the pen. It also refills in an odd way in that a small hinged “door” at the top of the pen opens and you slide the refills down into the pen barrel. My issue with this is how durable it will be. Will this “door” break off if I happen to drop this pen? Will the plastic “latch” dull down after a while and pop open on its own, causing my refills to go flying every which way? Well, we shall see…

As for the ink itself, I was very surprised and pleased with how it writes. It is still a little scratchy compared to some, but whem compared to the last Hi-Tec-C I purchased, it write like a dream. The brown and apple green ink are very bright and vivid, and I must admit that when I chose them, I meant to pick out a “tree” theme…

The notes section on my review sheet mentions that I didn’t know what the difference was between the regular Hi-Tec-C’s and the Coleto, but I did discover what it was… There isn’t one. The Coleto brand refers to the multi-pen series.

41/45 = 4.5/5

