I’m sure some of you have been wondering why I haven’t really posted all that much lately. Well, I have my reasons… I’ve been considering making some changes over the last week or so to the way that I review things (oh no, not again!). I realized that while I did review each item and gave it a “score”, that those scores were basically made-up on the spot and really had no good backing behind them. For this reason, I stole a concept from DizzyPen (I know, I’m shameless… lol). After seeing her “form” for reviewing fountain pen inks (didn’t see one for regular pens), I knew that the easiest way for me to “fairly” review each pen would be to fill out some sort of form and establish a ranking system. Thus, the following form was born…

Review Form

Pen/Ink Review Form

On this form are nine different “sections” by which a pen can/will be ranked. These are ink flow, skip/scratch, feathering, spidering, bleedthrough, drying time and whether the ink is dark/vibrant (erasability will be used only for erasable pens, lol), as for the pen itself, it will be ranked on its sturdiness and comfort level. Each of these categories will be ranked from 1 to 5 (1 being lowest/worst and 5 being the highest/best). I also reserve the right to award 1-5 points based on features I feel are beneficial (or just plain awesome) or detracting of the pen. This will enable me to rank pens based on a scale of 50-55, also allowing me to get a “more accurate” scoring method set up…

So, the next review you see will be done using this new form, feel free to comment, critique, etc. below. Also, if there are any categories you feel that I may have left out, feel free to mention them as well! 🙂

