Pen #57.
Bic Atlantis 1.0mm Retractable Ballpoint Pens – Black, Blue, Red, and Green

Well, I’ve been slacking off on my reviews… So, time to get caught up. We had purchased some of these pens for use around the office at work, and I must admit that when first using one, I was not very impressed. On giving these a second try, I did lose some of my earlier disliking, but they still rank as just an run-of-the-mill ballpoint in my book…

The Atlantis features a built-in rubber grip (which I consider to be one of it’s coolest features). While other rubber grips are just that (rubber), this one seems to be almost a gel grip which almost holds onto my fingers, rather than the other way around…

The 1.0 tip size was a little daunting to me at first, but I kind of wonder if it’s not a misnomer. The actual line width is more reminiscent of a 0.7mm tip than a 1.0 mm. They do write relatively smoothly, but like most ballpoints, the ink skips as you write (which is almost a sin for a perfectionist like myself. I catch myself going back and “finishing” lines all the time).

For $1.00 at Staples, these weren’t really a bad deal. Definitely a pen I could still use just to jot down quick notes with. Might stash it away in the car somewhere to help check/record my mileage…

3 out of 5…

