Occasionally, I get asked why that I buy/collect/review so many pens… The reason? Well, in order to answer that question we’re going to have to go back in time just a bit…

Warning: Mild psychoanalysis and childhood memories below… Not for the faint of heart… ^_^

Hmm, where to begin? I had a fairly normal childhood (being a product of the year 1990, I grew up playing with G.I. Joe’s, getting a Nintendo Entertainment System on my third birthday, worked on some of the earlier home computers – originally I used a Tandy that my grandmother had, then moved on to a used Windows 98 model, then my family bought one of the very first Gateway Windows XP computers, which came with one of the first flat-panels and was ridiculously expensive). But my interest in pens began when I was just about to graduate high-school… I had taken two years of accounting classes in high-school and had decided that I believed that it was what I wanted to do for a living. During this time, I had tried out several different types of pens trying to discover which one would allow me to fill out ledgers neatly and still fit within the allotted space.

So, I went on to college and am now a Junior, majoring in accounting… And I review pens…

What do you mean, “Is that all?”. No, that’s not all, but do you really want to hear the rest? Well, since you’re still here, I’ll take that as a yes (actually, I’m just using this as a place to vent, but, so be it, lol)… I had many different hobbies as I grew up… I collected video games for one. I had (and still have a good bit) a decent sized collection of games by the time I turned 15 (probably in the 150-200 range), when I realized that a.) I didn’t really have a place to store them, and b.) games kept getting more and more expensive. So, I dropped that one of my own volition. There were several hobbies after that, but I dropped them, mainly because my mother and father would tell me that it was a waste of my time or a waste of my money… The one that I did stick with up until this very day, was the one they approved of… I have been playing the piano since the age of five and have become (in my very humble opinion) a decent pianist.

Now, don’t get me wrong, neither of my parents are mean or non-supportive… They just don’t understand the idea of a hobby… My mother, just now, is getting into the art of scrap-booking. It’s the first hobby, other than reading inspirational romance novels, that she’s had in the twenty years that I’ve known her (literally, all my life XD). My father, he still doesn’t really know what a hobby is… He worked on and messed with cars when he was younger, but after he got married and had a kid (me), he stopped… Now, I will admit that he hasn’t ever really had the time to have a hobby, due to the fact that he gets up of a morning, goes to work, gets home, works around the house a bit (something he doesn’t really enjoy, so still not a hobby), lays down for a bit to watch a movie or something and then falls asleep, then gets up and repeats the next day. He was also a pastor for the past ten-twelve years up until 6 months ago, so that also cut into his time for personal enjoyment. The one thing that you could almost consider a hobby of his is the fact that he likes to write a Christian newsletter occasionally… So, as you can see, I don’t come from a hobby understanding/rich background…

So, with the advent of the joy I found in pens, I began to blog about them…Sure, for the first bit, I had maybe 5-10 people reading my blog on a good day and 2-3 on a bad. Then, I learned the value of social networking (ie. Twitter, Facebook, etc.), and slowly my readership grew from 10 people to 100 or more… Those one hundred people slowly drowned out my parent’s protests that I was wasting time/money/energy… Add to that fact that I am now courting a wonderful young lady and she is extremely supportive of my “pen obsession”, along with some of her family (sure, they joke about it with me, but never have told me that I should quit or that I’m wasting my time)… So, that’s why I haven’t quit… That’s why I’ve continued to blog about pens and such for a while now…

My newest hobby (which has lasted almost a whole month now) is working with leather… I picked it up from my girlfriend’s father, and truly enjoy doing it… I started out with the book cover I posted about a while ago, which was admired by my family, who took a bit of interest in it, and have continued making things… The interest in each item that I make has started to dissipate (going from “That’s really nice! How long did it take to make that?” to “Oh, that’s nice…” in a matter of days), but I don’t plan on quitting on it either… Wish me luck… πŸ™‚

So, there you have it… The reason for my “obsession”… Any other questions, feel free to ask in the comment section below! πŸ™‚

