Pen #55.
Pentel Oh! Gel 0.7mm Retractable Gel Pen – Black, Blue, and Red

Another random Staples find, these Oh! Gels caught my attention because a.) I had never seen them before and b.) they had an odd design…

First things first… The Oh! Gel line features a rich, dark gel ink which applies smoothly to the paper. Although you probably can’t see it in the picture, the ink (with the exception of the red) is very dark and thick compared to most other gel pens, although this is not totally unexpected since the Energel line is also very similar.

As for the design… I’m not really sure what to say. I see a growing trend for pen producers to “decorate” their pens in geometric and “swirly” patterns, and I’m not sure whether or not I like it. Sometimes I’m ok with the designs, but then others that I see are way to “girly” in appearance and instantly turn me off to that type of pen. The Oh! Gels feature a diamond pattern on the barrel, which while I’m not particularly adverse to it, I don’t particularly like it either. The plunger is  a “crystal clear diamond cut top” (yup, took that directly from Pentel’s website)… I’m not sure why, but everything about this pen screams “I’m trying to look “fancy-smhancy” while still being affordable, but it ends up just looking cheap… Sorry Pentel, you failed to capture my heart with these…

3 out of 5 stars…

