Pen #52.
Sakura Gelly Roll Fine 0.7mm Gel Pen – Blue

One of the new batch of pens I just ordered from JetPens, I ordered this mainly based on the reputation that the Sakura Gelly Roll line was some of the better and classic gel pens out there. Featuring a simplistic design coupled with bright, archival quality gel ink, the Gelly Roll Fine is a tribute to the gel pen’s roots.

The Sakura Gelly Roll Fine features a semi-transparent barrel, which allows you to see the ink supply,  a simple yet effective gripping point and pen tip,and snug fitting cap. One curious thing about the cap presents itself in that while it has a normal clip, there are three protrusions on equidistant points around the bottom edge… I’m assuming they’re just for decoration and really serve no purpose (although they did make it much easier to take pictures than most pens)…

As for the writing, I consider the Gelly Roll Fine to be slightly above par for a gel pen… Don’t get me wrong, it writes pretty well with hardly any scratchiness, is relatively comfortable to write with, and applies a nice, consistent, and bright line of ink to the page; and I do love the simplistic design. However, it’s not really anything to write home about. I’m going to assume that most of the hype I’ve heard about this pen comes from scrapbooking moms and move on along… Still a decent pen though…

4 out of 5 stars…

