Pens #49 and 50.
Pentel Hybrid Technica 0.3mm and 0.4mm Gel Pens – Black

Several weeks ago, I won two different Pentel contests, one on Facebook and one on Twitter (If you like Pentel pens, you might want to Like/Follow them since they have different giveaways all the time…). I waited anxiously for a little over two weeks for my prizes to arrive in the mail, but to no avail… Apparently, somewhere along the line, someone at the post office decided that they might like to have some Pentel pens, and decided to deprive me of mine (or else they just got lost in the mail). So, I contacted the marketing department at Pentel and they quickly said that they would send me another set. Four days later, I checked the mail, and there they were! And not only did they send me the Pentel Hybrid Technica and Jolt that I had won, but also two bonus pens!

So, reviewed her today, we have the 0.3mm and 0.4mm Hybrid Technicas. I was a wee bit wary after my first experience with the Hybrid Technica line and a little less worried after the second experience, but I must admit that once again my opinion has changed…

In the US, the Hybrid Technica is not really an “everyday writing” pen, but is part of Pentel’s “Arts” line. According to Pentel’s catalog, these pens feature a tungsten-carbide tip, archival-safe ink, and are excellent tools for sketching, drawing, or even manga art. “The pigmented ink is also light-fast, bleed-proof, water-resistant, and fade-resistant.” Pentel offers these in 0.3mm (extra fine), 0.4mm (fine), 0.5mm (medium), and 0.6mm (bold).

Both of the pens I received are extremely fine and write relatively smoothly. Like most needle-sharp pens, the smoothness of the writing depends on the quality and grain of the paper. The 0.3mm is surprisingly smooth (especially when compared to the 0.5mm Technica I reviewed before) and has an excellent ink flow. While it’s still a bit fine to me, the 0.3mm tip size still writes excellently for such a fine-tipped pen. The 0.4mm tip size is just about right for me. The only problem I have is that it tends to slightly “blob” ink on the paper occasionally, but that’s something I can deal with and it’s not all particularly bad about it.

The Hybrid Technica design is very simplistic, and features a grooved rubber grip and cap which clips onto the top of the barrel.

All in all, both of these pens are much better than the 0.5mm Orange Hybrid Technica I reviewed a while back, and just as good as the Retractable 0.5mm Blue Hybrid Technica I reviewed as well…

0.3mm – 5 out of 5 stars
0.4 mm – 4.5 out of 5 stars

0.3mm Hybrid Technica

0.3mm Hybrid Technica

0.3mm Hybrid Technica Tip

0.3mm Hybrid Technica Tip

0.4mm Hybrid Technica

0.4mm Hybrid Technica

0.4mm Hybrid Technica Tip

0.4mm Hybrid Technica Tip

Note: I won the 0.4mm in a Pentel Twitter contest and I received the 0.3mm as a bonus from Pentel. My review is not affected in any way by the fact that these items were sent to me free of charge by Pentel of America.
