Pen #46.
Zebra SK-Sharbo+1 Multi-Pen + Pencil – Black, Red, and Lead

Well, here’s another pen that I’ve needed to review for some time now (I purchased it in my first JetPens.com order) and just haven’t seemed to be able to get around to it. I’m not sure why, but I think part of the reason may be that I don’t really have a way to gauge the quality/performance of a mechanical pencil (since they all use “standard lead” and basically all function the same, unless of course you purchase specialty lead and such).

So, informational spiel first, right? The Zebra SK-Sharbo+1 is a member of the Sharbo line of multi-pens, which are designed to not look like the average multi-pen (bulky, multiple plungers, etc.)… While the main members of the Sharbo line feature a wide range of customisable metal bodies, Zebra must have considered this line successful enough to make it available to those of us with a little less pocket change.  The SK-Sharbo+1 features two 0.7mm ballpoint refills (black and red) as well as a 0.5mm mechanical pencil component.

This multi-pen shines in its field, mainly because of Zebra’s unique deployment system. Instead of having multiple plungers to select ink/components, the SK-Sharbo+1’s clip rotates, with the rotation selecting and presenting the ink/component of your choice. The one thing I have against this is that there’s no “blank space”. Instead of having a certain point on the pen where no refill/component is visible, you must twist the clip approximately half-way between choices in order to hide the tip. Since there’s no “stopping point” in between the selections, the pen often twists, extending the tip of its own accord.

Another problem I have with this pen is the refills. Sure, the Zebra ballpoints are some of the best, in my humble opinion, but as of this time there are no gel refills of any type available. Maybe when Zebra starts making gel refills, this may become one of my favorite pens.

3.5 out of 5 stars…

