Pentel Energel 0.7mm Retractable Gel Pens

Pentel Energel 0.7mm Retractable Gel Pens

Pen #31.
Pentel Energel Retractable 0.7mm Gel Pen

Well, even though I’ve reviewed several other pens in the Energel line, when I saw these on sale at Staples, I knew I just couldn’t pass them up… The original pack that I purchased actually contained two black, one blue, one red, one green, and one violet (which is missing because I gave it to a female co-worker, since I don’t like pink or purple pens…). The Pentel Energel Retractable 0.7mm gel pens are basically the same as the stick version or even the alloy version, with one difference… They come in four different ink colors, rather than the standard black! All three (of the four) colors wrote beautifully, and laid down thick, bright lines of ink. None of them skipped, scratched, or smeared, but I expected as much from an Energel product. One of the only negatives I have about these were the fact that the rubber grip feels really cheap, almost like if you weren’t careful it was going to slide or tear off. Might just be a problem particular to the batch of pens I bought, but it’s not that big of a deal. If there is one thing about the Energel line that thrills my soul, it’s consistency. Unlike the Zebra pen lines (yes, you really are about to hear me mention Zebra in a slightly negative connotation), all of the Energel refills are inter-changeable. For instance, let’s say that I don’t like the black Energel cartridge currently in my Energel Tradio (yes, I know I haven’t reviewed it yet, it’s been laying around in my pencil case for a long while now…), I could easily replace it with the blue or green cartridge from one of these pens! Or, if I didn’t like the 0.7mm line width, I could replace it with a refill from the 0.5 needlepoint… All in all, another excellent product from Pentel!

4.5 out of 5 stars

