Two updates in one day? I’m sure that I’ve got to be breaking all the rules of blogging (could someone please send me a copy of Blogging for Dummies?)! Oh well, this isn’t really a review, but more of an informational post, so I’m sure that’s ok…

1.) The Pen Addict – A blog by the enigma known only as “Dowdyism”, The Pen Addict truly is the inspiration for my pursuit in blogging… Plus, he currently has a giveaway going!
Pen Addict Giveaway: Nomadic Two Layer Pencil Case & Seed Slendy + Slim Eraser

2.) Doane Paper – I’m sure everyone’s read about Doane Paper (especially since it was the focus of yesterday’s review), but I’ll tell you about it again. Doane’s inventiveness in the combining of ruled paper and graph paper culminated in the Grid+Lines paper style. Hop over to his website today and purchase some to try out for yourself!

3.) JetPens.com – I’m currently waiting on my third order from JetPens.com to arrive, and I have to say that I have yet to be disappointed with any of the products I’ve received! If you’re a fan of Japanese/Chinese/Korean fine tipped pens, brush pens, fountain pens, or any other stationery product (I swear, if you can think of it, they most likely have it…), look no further. They also feature free shipping on any orders over $25.00!

4.) Note Booker Esq. – One of the newest people I’ve “met” in my plogging (pen-blogging?) venture. Mr. Booker became a fan just a day before I moved from Blogger to WordPress, and when I e-mailed him, telling him of the change, he graciously replied and also subscribed to the new location. From what I’ve read on his blog, Booker is a technophile attorney who has just recently rediscovered the joy of putting pen to paper. Check out his blog for reviews on a variety of pens, notebooks, and even inks…

So, there you have it… Some links for you to explore and satisfy your craving for all things regarding office supplies.

On a side note, I was talking to a friend of mine where I work (I have the fine privilege of working in the office portion of a manufacturing business) about how I needed something to stash my pens in on my desk. Of course, me being a wee bit of a cheap skate, I didn’t want to pay for a “desk organizer or whatever you want to call them. So, I went back to my mediocre job…

A little while later, my friend came up into the office (he works in the shop) and brought with him a block of one of the materials we carry (UHMW Polyethelene, a hard plastic rated to withstand up to 280 degrees Farenheit and has a tensile strength of 3,100 psi) and handed it to me. After careful inspection, this if what I found…

The Pen Forest

"The Pen Forest"

Yup, my friend made me what I dub “The Pen Forest” out of 2-1/2″ thick UHMW, which is basically indestructible (at least by anything readily available in an office setting). In the top of this block of material, he drilled 21 holes. The outer twelve and center hole are larger than the holes in the inner ring (one of the inner ring holes is smaller than the others in order to fit a pencil or one of my thinner body pens, ie. Pentel Slicci, or Ohto Pieni), allowing me a place to store my “essentials” as well as a few extras! Thanks so much to my thoughtful mate here at work! He saved me some cash as well as gave me something unique…

