Doane Paper Measurements

Doane Paper Measurements

Doane Paper – A Review…

Well, after using this fine product from Doane Paper for several months (ok, lets be honest, I was just slacking), I finally believe I’m ready to do a bit of a review on it. Both times that I’ve purchased paper from Doane, I’ve bought the three pack of 8-1/2″ x 11-3/4″ (21.6 cm x 29.8 cm) legal pads – since I usually carry a padfolio with me whenever I go to meeting or am taking notes in college classes.

Where to start… Well, how about the construction of the notepad itself. Chad Doane’s revolutionary design is printed on 20 lb. Bond Smooth Stock writing paper, which holds up relatively well to most pens (although I must say that some rollerballs bleed through pretty easily, and of course, nothing can stand up to the wrath of a Sharpie). Each pad consists of 50 sheets of single-sided (a double sided version wouldn’t be too bad of an idea… *hint*) 8-1/2″ x 10-3/4″ (21.6 cm x 27.3 cm) paper, held together at the top by two tape-covered staples. The chipboard backing provides a relatively stable writing surface (since my pads are usually in a padfolio or on a clipboard, this doesn’t present a problem).

Now, for the design… My hat is truly off to Chad Doane for his inventiveness! In combining a ruled legal pad with graph paper, he has truly created a product worthy of this modern age. One of the main things I’m impressed with is the standardization of each and every sheet. One of my most grievous problems with common graph paper is where the squares almost always run off the page (ie. half a square, or three-quarters of a square on the edge of the page). Doane has solved this quandry by doing several things. 1.) He placed a margin of .25″ (6.5 mm) on all sides of the paper, enclosing the grid/lines in a perfect rectangle, allowing for an exact number of the 1/8″ x 1/8″ (3.5 mm x 3.5mm) squares on each page (there are 5,208 squares per page, by the way). The lines on the page are wide ruled – which while I am normally a college ruled writer, I can deal with – and are spaced 3/8″ (10 mm) apart and contain 3 squares (ingenious, I know…). The nice, bold pink/red margin line stands out well, and is exactly seven squares in on each page (7/8″ or 22 mm from the rectangle border, and 1-1/8″ or 29 mm from the edge of the page).

So, to wrap things up, I truly love this idea and paper from Doane Paper! While I have yet to order any of his other products (idea journals, flap jotters, or utility notebooks), I can easily see myself ordering them in the future.

5 out of 5 stars!

Doane Legal Pad

Doane Legal Pad (8-1/2" x 11-3/4", 21.6 cm x 29.8 cm)

Different pens/pencil on Doane Paper...

Writing Sample - Front

Bleedthrough on Doane Paper...

Writing Sample - Back

