Pen #19.
Bic Triumph 537R 0.5mm Rollerball

Another one of my Staples trip finds, the Bic Triumph 537R really seemed to stand out on the shelf. I bought a 4-pack of these (for $6.99, if I remember correctly) and put them in my laptop case to reviews, and promptly forgot about them. After doing a little research, I discovered that the Triumph line of pens from Bic were created and marketed for the high-end consumer (average home income of $84,000+ per Bic’s press release). Well, I’m not a high-end consumer, but I am a pen nut! The 537R, I must admit, is one of the most pleasant rollerballs I have used in a while. It does have the “rollerballic” tendency to bleed a bit, but it writes very smoothly. One of the things that bugs me is the way it looks. Bic says that they were trying to attract up-scale consumers with the pen’s sleek design and “metal finish”. The “metal finish” on one of mine has already begun to scrape off with just medium use. Other than that, a pretty decent pen.

4 out of 5 stars…


